Testimonials

A gem!

Stayed Mar 2021

Louisa B.​

Just the place we need for a vacation in Maui to regroup and energize after a long year. Thank you!

Amazing

Stayed Jan 2021

Melanee S.​

The cottage is amazing! The owners, Camille and Eric are wonderful!

Paradise

Stayed Nov 2020

Ronald S. 

The cottage is everything one would expect and more. It was a totally wonderful experience, a little piece of paradise. A terrific place to just sit back and relax and enjoy Makena.

Wonderful

Stayed March 2020

Louisa B.

Always a perfect time here to download from the rest of the world. Eric and Camille are terrific hosts working with us when airline reservations were cancelled. We WILL be back again

Simply Amazing Location

Stayed Feb 2020

Casey R.

My wife and I stayed at the Makena Ocean Cottage in early March and had a fabulous time. The MOC is tucked in a cove that overlooks Turtle Town and the view from the lanai is second to none for stunning sunsets. The MOC is well appointed with everything you would need for preparing meals and the refrigerator is large with an ice-maker. The location is a 5 minute walk to Maluaka Beach which was our favorite spot to soak up the sun and swim and snorkel. MOC has four beach chairs and 2 umbrellas available for guests.

Eric and Camille are a pleasure to do business with! Highly recommend the MOC!

All the stars ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️

Stayed Nov 2019

Laura C.

We are a Canadian couple who brought our baby and parents out to Hawaii for a little sun and surf. Given the baby we knew we’d be a little less mobile and wanted to maximize ocean time /beach access. We were overwhelmed by the plethora of condo options in Kaanapali and Kihei but nothing seemed to truly get us close to the water or provide any actual space or privacy!

THEN we found this beautiful house! It was ...just amazing. Right on the ocean, you fall asleep and awake to the sound of crashing waves and bird song. There are turtles frolicking in the waves in front of the cottage and coconut trees swaying, and show-stopping pink sunsets every evening... it’s truly a Hawaiian paradise.

Highly, highly, highly recommend. We would definitely return again! All the stars!!

Perfect Maui Beach Cottage

Stayed Oct 2019

Pat F.

If you want waves breaking right off your porch- this is the perfect place. Owners are super helpful, and location is only minutes to all of the Makena Resorts and Golf Courses.

Makena Oceanfront Cottage was absolutely wonderful!!!

Stayed Sept 2019

Keith and Traci E.

Our hosts were wonderful in welcoming communication and response.. This sweet, clean and charming cottage was located in an awesome ocean-front setting with all the amenities for fun and relaxation. The kitchen and bathroom were well equipped and the bedrooms were nice and very comfortable. We spent much of our time here immensely enjoying the ocean-side deck with hot tub and relaxing sound of the waves. This home is located in an excellent area for snorkeling and other ocean activities at Makena Bay Landing. The beautiful sunsets here were spectacular!!! Mahalo again for the excellent stay and gentle spirit of sweet Hawaiian Aloha! We plan to return here again upon our next stay on Maui! 🌴🌺

Paradise!!

Denise M. (2019)

Makena Cottage offers privacy to relax and unwind but is only minutes away from shopping, dining and other activities. The view from the lanai is spectacular. You can't go wrong booking Makena Cottage. We are already discussing a second trip.

Best view and private getaway on Maui!

Kurt A. (2019)

Best vacation we’ve had in years! Just a “few” MaiTai’s while watching the turtles morning and night from the lanai. BBQs, snorkeling, church down the street, Kai Kanani sail to Molokini, fishing in the morning (and fish tacos from our catch in the evening), scooter rental in Kihei....we will be back!!

We will be back!

Louisa B. (2019)

This cottage is perfect for the type of vacation we need when coming to Maui. Location suits us perfectly. The size of the cottage works well for us. The house is equipped with all we need to cook, relax, read, hot tub, beach, and sleep on a muggy night. Favorite part ...... the Lani to watch turtles play in the waves in the afternoon. Thank you Eric and Camille. It has been a joy again to work and chat with you.

Wonderful!

Bob F. (2019)

We’ve just returned home after another great stay at Makena Oceanfront Cottage. A big thanks to Eric and Camille for providing such idyllic accommodations. The first thing we do before planning a trip to Maui is checking the availability calendar of this awesome house. If we can’t stay here, then it’s a no go. The lanai is unbeatable. We spend so much time there listening to the waves, watching the whales, spying on the turtles swimming right in front of us, and taking photos of the incredible sunsets!

best location in Maui

Martha M. (2018)

Such a unique spot. Beaches and snorkeling a short walk away. Kaleidoscopic views. turtles right below you. We had a couple of minor issues this time (my second visit) but they were resolved by contacting the owner.

Vacation Brain happens here

Louisa B. (2018)

You know that moment when you go someplace special and your brain starts to turn off, relax, and nothing is that important anymore, except perhaps dinner reservations? That is Vacation Brain and that happen here for us.

Went to celebrate our 40th Anniversary and spend some short time with our son. This cottage was exactly the kind of place we all were seeking. We all totally melted during our stay. Helps with ocean waves, ocean views and being so close to our favorite beach/snorkeling areas. Great morning entertainment as we sipped our coffee watching snorkeling and kayaking groups. Afternoons were watching more waves and turtles feeding off the rocks from the lanai. Quiet areas for great walking for when we didn't want to explore the island or hang on the beach.

Cottage had everything we needed for stay. Eric was great to work with. Thinking of another week there the next time we come back!

Beautiful water-front property

Steven M. (2018)

A very peaceful and tranquil cottage on the waterfront in Makena. Spend your evenings relaxing on the lanai watching the sun go down. In the morning you can watch the turtles playing in the surf. The proprty is clean and well equipped. The owners are very helpful and responsive to questions.

Wonderful vacation getaway, truly to get away.

Vlad S. (2018)

We keep coming regularly to the same cottage, perfect place for non quite assuming couple of adults or small family. Perfect location, reasonable price, small footage (it is quite a benefit) and distance to the ocean with the gentle surf and visiting turtles makes it special.

A perfect week in paradise

Martha M. (2018)

Our family loved everything about this cottage- location, layout, amenities- the owners are to be congratulated for their attention to detail (flashlights provided in case of power outages!!) We enjoyed having a heated outdoor shower which really helped keep the cottage clean. the turtles in the water lapping right outside the deck provided great afternoon entertainment.

Most tranquil place on earth!

Stella H. (2018)

No need to plan a busy week of activities. This is the place to come and unwind. Renew and refresh. A tropical oasis like not other.

Makena Cottages

Suzanna D. (2017)

Loved the porch and view - awesome! Plus owners lovely and take great care of you!!!

What a delightful cottage and location! We could not have been happier!

Donna P. (2017)

The owners, Eric and Camille, could not have been more pleasant! They gave us lots on information to help us decide to rent their precious cottage. Beds were comfortable, kitchen well equipped and organized and we never wanted to leave the living/ dining area and lanai! The breezes, sounds of the ocean, beautiful views were more than we could have hoped for. Thank you for a beautiful and unforgettable experience!

Profound Experience

Dave (2017)

This was our first time renting Makena Cottage and we cannot wait to return. Finding words for this review is difficult because we had such an amazing week. My wife and I have been fortunate enough to have traveled to many places across the globe in Europe, Asia, US and South America. My favorite place hands down has been Croatia, until now.The Makena Cottage truly changed my perspective. This is a very, very special place. It's simplicity and Aloha spirit grabs you and holds you there. You can feel the history of the Island and Makena Landing, but the beauty of this piece of the world is breath taking. My wife and I are both grateful to the Petersons for opening their island cottage to all of us holiday renters. We were also fortunate enough to meet the neighbors who are 4th generation Hawaiians and whose family originally owned the properties. hearing about the history of the area was wonderful. We also got to meet Camille & Eric and they are welcoming and warm people. If you are thinking of renting this property, do not wait, you will fall in love immediately and you will not want to leave.

Thank you Camille & Eric